Fire up YOUR Business

What a Morning!

05/10/2013 11:31
Whew... It is only 8:30am here and I am already worn out! Today is therapy day for my oldest. What does that mean? It means he attends occupational therapy once or twice a week in order to help him with basic tasks. He has sensory processing disorder and epilepsy. Both are things I advocate for on a daily basis. Both conditions come with a stigma in society that amazes me still. Sensory Disorder is a difficult one to explain. Samuel is a sensory seeker. This means that he needs constant physical and mental stimuli with all senses. He is mainly a oral and touch seeker, meaning certain foods are his preference because they trigger all senses. Some of his favorite foods consist of high spice or high sourness. That is just the beginning. I won't inundate you with a lot this morning, but you'll about the condition more as time goes on. Epilepsy- shows in many different forms. Samuel has partial complex seizures secondarily generalized, absence seizures, and tonic-clonic seizures. He is under treatment with medication and has had more EEG's, EKG's, even a PET scan in order to see if we can help him. The main thing that bothers me with his epilepsy is the lack of knowing the cause and not knowing when a seizure may come. Combine these two conditions and it develops a social stigma that amazes even me and I am a hard one to shock. He has dealt with parents saying their children cannot play with him and I have dealt with other people telling me I was not a good mother because he was not disciplined enough. It is most certainly a challenge. My dream for him is for him to be able to follow his dreams. He has started his own blog called thisischeer.blogspot.com and is attempting to show the world a way to focus on the positive. Mind you, he is only 5 years old. With all that said, I really must be going. Feel free to contact me anytime to discuss epilepsy, SPD, or anything else that suits your fancy. Kristina Kay kattkreations@gmail.com
Back

Search site

© 2013 All rights reserved.